A Course In Miracles

Blessed2

I wanted to make a thread on ACIM since it has been so helpful for me and I'd like to share it. However, I'm still a total beginner and the way I present the Course here might be more or less off. So I recommend reading the source material and/or an introductory book. This thread is a learning for myself too.

I'll keep posting whatever insight might come while reading the course myself, and share some quotes that I find helpful.

This is an open thread so any insight you want to share, advice you want to offer or questions you'd like to ask are welcome!

What is it?

A Course In Miracles is a self-study program designed to bring about transformation in one's inner life and thus find true, lasting peace.

It could be characterized as a non-dual study program or thought-system. It is synonymous with all other non-dual traditions and systems, such as Buddhism, Advaita Vedanta, Daoism etc. However, like every tradition, ACIM too has it's own unique language, map, practice and emphasis.

The entire work is available for free here: https://acim.org/acim/about/a-course-in-miracles/en/s/1010

(it's official & legal).

Where did it come from?

Helen Scuchman, a psychiatrist from New York scribed it according to an "inner voice" which dictated the entire book for her. This happened in the 70s and took several years.

The "inner voice" was likely Jesus. However, in reading the book, it might be better not to think of some dude in the desert 2000 years ago, but rather a mind that knows no limitation and recognizes Truth from illusion.

What does it say?

https://acim.org/acim/preface/what-it-says/en/s/43

Here's how I've come to understand it, in a nutshell:

In appearing as perfection you forgot your perfection and thought you split in two.

The belief that separation actually happened resulted in fear and guilt.

Because you believe there is separation, and fear & guilt is justified, you hide from it using projection.