There is this 1 coworker I have on my new team that I could only describe as angry dork. Let’s say his name is John and he is a senior data scientist and is my age - 30.

A few days ago one of my coworkers took a sick day and John made a comment to me that it’s so weird that people aren’t even taking care of their health and need to take sick days now.

Then today when I was waiting for a subway with him he asked me if I’ve been coming to the office twice a week (as per company hybrid policy). I said no, I’ve only been doing once a week for now, on my other team they’re doing once per week so I’ve been just continuing doing that. After which he got angry/annoyed and told me that I’m not on my other team now, and I should be in the office twice a week. 

The reason I don’t come in twice a week is because I am studying now and I find it much easier to come in just once a week (he doesn’t study because data scientists don’t have to do the long exam process I have to go through as an actuary). Plus, when we are taking study days at work, they are usually ok with us coming in once a week. 

My manager himself doesn’t come in twice a week, and he never made any comments about how often I should be in the office. I don’t understand why the hell John cares how often I come in to the office and why doesn’t he just mind his own business. 

I really dislike this John guy and I find him to be very arrogant and judgmental. He likes to use a lot of “should” and “shouldn’ts” and acts as if he is better than everyone else. A few times he even rolled his eyes when I said something he didn’t agree with.

I meet people like him very often at work. I call them angry dorks - have no life other than work, are very proper and do everything “right”, judge everyone who is not such a proper goody goody as they are.