The Pain

Agape

Eckhart Tolle calls it the 'Pain Body'. For me, 'The Pain' is a term that makes sense of everything. I've been advised not to overthink, not overanalyze, not do analytical jobs, to accept things, to be more compassionate and kind towards myself, to rationalize, to recontextualize, to relive memories, to understand my'self' and express my feelings. All of that kicked the can down the road. It's good for moderation. To not go too far and fast too quickly. The only thing that has helped me is to sit with emotions and not tense up. 

I look at what is going on in Western Europe and it scares the shit out of me. But there's fuck all I can do about it. I see beautiful women and...anyways everything, just everything. I have no first hand knowledge of why there is consciousness, why we are here, if there were past lives, if there will be life after death, if there is a God...and so on. 

But there is the pain. It's here. Everybody's got it. Rich people don't care about poor people. Poor people don't care about rich people and every other in-group out-group division is in that dynamic. But everybody's got the pain. So what to do about it? Other people find their way it seems. And I believed so many paths would work so many times. Over a number of years I would periodically go back to mindfulness of emotions for a week, a month or a bit longer and then bail for some other shiny path. 

People look at addicts acting out on an addiction and they, I think, find it vulgar and irrational. But everything in that equation from both sides is driven by the exact same thing - the pain. Rich people, poor people, everybody has the pain. All these polished theories or realisations about reality from every corner of the world are pointless, for me. I can get on my knees and pray to God and the pain is still there. 

All this business of Nonduality and it's associated concepts, were a security blanket for me.