Trouble sleeping & How to improve

I've been using an Oura ring for the past 3 months, and one thing that stands out quite consistently is the quality of my sleep. 

For the past months almost every night my sleep is interrupted and I wake up in the middle of the night, sometimes even 2-3 times.

I don't wake up energized at all. I feel the amount of sleep I get is sufficient enough not to have a terrible effect on me, however I would say it's not optimal. For reference I'm getting around 1 hr of Deep Sleep on average. 

How is your sleep? Have you struggled with it? What actions have you taken in order to improve? 

@Phil I remember you saying somewhere you sleep a lot less than 8hrs. How's that going for you? Any tips? 

I know that measurements tools can be insightful but when it comes to measuring sleep, I'd be mindful with what thoughts and expectations you start making about it. I learned when I had a newborn that I was repeatedly calculating what sleep I got, then I was having expectations of feeling good that day based on how I thought I slept and then it was a self-fulfilling prophecy. With my second baby I didn't do it at all and I don't even remember being that tired. Optimize light levels, make it as dark as you can, get rid of all electronic devices in your room, cover up any lights, even little ones, exercise during the day, get fresh air, get time outside, watch the sunset outside if you can, cut out or cut way back on caffeine and take none of it after noon if you do use it. Even caffeine use in the morning will affect sleep. Cherries, cherry juice at nice is natural source of melatonin, and eating good carbs that aren't hard to digest, like a banana at night or later in the day can help you sleep more soundly. 

Youtube Channel  

On 9/11/2023 at 6:43 AM, Inno said:

I remember you saying somewhere you sleep a lot less than 8hrs. How's that going for you? Any tips?